Online Talks
Public Panel
David Schramm Legacy Dinner
Contact Us
Local Info
Internal pages

Symposium Description
Plenary Speakers and Parallel Session Organizers
Local and Scientific Organizing Committee
Symposium Materials
Poster Presentation Information
Fee Payment
Important Dates

Symposium Description


Cosmological discoveries of the past 10 years have revolutionized our view of the Universe. The KICP Inaugural Symposium "New Views of the Universe" will focus on a broad range of topics from particle physics and cosmology of the early universe to structure formation in the local Universe. The Symposium aims to bring together cosmologists, particle physicists, astrophysicists, and astronomers from around the world to discuss the current status and the future of theory, experiments, and observations at the particle physics - cosmology interface. The Symposium will also honor the memory of David Schramm who was a pioneer in research at the interface of cosmology and particle physics.

The Symposium consists of a full day of plenary talks that focus on the Scientific Legacy of David Schramm (December 9). This first day will culminate in a special dinner in honor of the memory of Schramm which will be held at the new Center for Integrative Science at the University of Chicago Campus.

The mornings of December 10,11,12,13th will consist of Plenary sessions. The topics of the plenary sessions are: "From the Early Universe to the CMB", "Dark Energy", "Galaxy Formation and Large Scale Structure", "Dark Matter & High Energy Astrophysics".

The afternoons of December 10,11,12 will be devoted to parallel sessions on the following topics: "Dark Energy Experiment/Theory", "Early Universe", "Large Scale Structure/Lensing", "Dark Matter Theory/Experiment", "CMB Theory/Experiment", "Gamma Ray Bursts", "High Energy Particles", "Gravity/Branes/Strings", "Clusters/Galaxy Formation".

The Symposium will be held at the Hyatt Regency in down town Chicago. For more information, please, visit the Hotel page.

David N. Schramm Legacy Dinner:
Friday, December 9, 2005
Reception 6:30 pm, Dinner 7:30 pm
Center for Integrative Science
929 East 57th Street
University of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

After dinner speaker is Nobel Laureate Leon Lederman. The cost of the dinner is $75 per person. Transportation will be provided to and from the Hyatt and the University of Chicago campus for those attending the dinner. For more information, please, visit the David N. Schramm Legacy Dinner page.


Symposium Banquet:
The Symposium Banquet will be held on Sunday December 11 at 6:15 PM at the Adler Planetarium & Astronomy Museum. The cost of the banquet is $75 per person (tickets given to you with your on-site registration materials).


Plenary Speakers and Parallel Session Organizers


John Beacom (Ohio State University)

Rachel Bean (Cornell University)

Edo Berger (Carnegie Observatories)

Gary Bernstein (University of Pennsylvania)

Roger Blandford (KIPAC, Stanford)

Sean Carroll (University of Chicago)

Hsiao-Wen Chen (University of Chicago)

Sarah Church (Stanford University)

Juan Collar (University of Chicago)

Janet Conrad (Columbia University)

Ed Copeland (University of Nottingham)

Julianne Dalcanton (University of Washington)

Scott Dodelson (University of Chicago and Fermilab)

Michael Dragowsky (Case Western Reserve University)

Richard Easther (Yale University)

Xiaohui Fan (University of Arizona)

Wendy Freedman (Carnegie Observatories)

Katherine Freese (University of Michigan)

Josh Frieman (University of Chicago and Fermilab)

Michael Gladders (Carnegie Observatories)

Nick Gnedin (Fermilab)

Fabio Governato (UW-INAF)

Ruth Gregory (University of Durham)

Jeff Harvey (University of Chicago)

Jacqueline Hewitt (MIT Kavli Institute)

Joerg Hoerandel (University of Karlsruhe)

Isobel Hook (University of Oxford)

Wayne Hu (University of Chicago)

Andrew Jaffe (Imperial College)

Bhuvnesh Jain (University of Pennsylvania)

Karsten Jedamzik (LPTA-CNRS, University of Montpellier)

Lloyd Knox (UC Davis)

Rocky Kolb (Chicago/Fermilab)

Lawrence Krauss (Case Western Reserve University)

Don Lamb (University of Chicago)

Leon Lederman (FNAL)

Martin Lemoine (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris)

Teresa Montaruli (University of Wisconsin - Madison)

Keith Olive (University of Minnesota)

Rosalba Perna (University of Colorado)

Nicholas Pritzker (Global Hyatt Corporation)

Georg Raffelt (Max Planck Institute for Physics, Munich)

Lisa Randall (Harvard University)

Adam Riess (STSCI)

Geraldine Servant (CEA Saclay)

Deirdre Shoemaker (Penn State)

Suzanne Staggs (Princeton University)

Gary Steigman (Ohio State University)

Michael Turner (University of Chicago and NSF)

Benjamin Wandelt (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

David Wands (University of Portsmouth)

Alan Watson (University of Leeds)

Risa Wechsler (KICP, University of Chicago)

Trevor Weekes (Harvard-Smithsonian CfA)

David Weinberg (Ohio State University)



Local and Scientific Organizing Committee


KICP Faculty and Fellows:

Angela Olinto (Chair)

John Carlstrom

Sean Carroll

Clarence Chang

Juan Collar

James Cronin

Joshua Frieman

Christopher Gordon

Wayne Hu

Dragan Huterer

Andrey Kravtsov

Randall Landsberg

Stephan Meyer

Brian Odom

Hiranya Peiris

Clem Pryke

Dorothea Samtleben

Yong-Seon Song

Simon Swordy

Michael Turner

Monica Valluri

Scott Wakely

Xiaomin Wang

Risa Wechsler

Bruce Winstein

Tokonatsu Yamamoto

Andrew Zentner


Symposium Materials


Poster Presentation Information


Posters will be displayed on the day of the corresponding parallel session. Please look for the session name on the poster boards to determine where to place your poster. Thumb tacks will be provided. Posters can be displayed from 7:00AM onward and need to be removed by 5:30PM each day. Posters that are not removed at 5:30PM will be removed by symposium staff and held at the registration desk. The space available for each poster is 30"Wx36"H.


Fee Payment


The registration fee is $300 per person ($175 for students). For participants who wish to attend only the FIRST day of the plenary session "Schramm's Scientific Legacy" a special one day registration fee rate of $100 will be charged (only available for the December 9).

The cost of the David N. Schramm Legacy Dinner (December 9, 2005) is $75 per person.

The cost of the Symposium banquet (December 11, 2005) is $75 per person (tickets given to you with your on-site registration materials).

November 18, 2005 - Deadline for registration fee and banquet tickets payments.


Important Dates


  • October 31, 2005: Deadline for Abstract submission

  • November 4, 2005: Deadline for Hotel Room Reservation

  • November 18, 2005: Deadline for Registration Fee and Symposium Banquet tickets payments

  • November 30, 2005: Deadline for David N. Schramm Legacy Dinner tickets payment

  • December 8-13, 2005: Symposium

  • December 8, 2005: Registration day

  • December 9, 2005: David Schramm's Scientific Legacy Day

The Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics The University of Chicago